

South Carolina House of Representatives Legislative Oversight Committee

#### Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson

William H. Bailey Gary S. Brewer April Cromer Kambrell H. Garvin Leon Douglas "Doug" Gilliam Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr. William M. "Bill" Hixon Joseph H. "Joe" Jefferson, Jr. Wendell Keith Jones Roger K. Kirby Josiah Magnuson John R. McCravy, III

> Lewis Carter Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Roland Franklin Legal Counsel Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

**First Vice-Chair Chris Wooten** 

Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis

Adam M. Morgan

Travis A. Moore

Russell L. Ott

Marvin R. Pendarvis

Marvin "Mark" Smith

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

# **MEETING MINUTES**

Thursday, February 1, 2024 Upon Adjournment of the House Blatt Room 110

# Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

## Attendance

 The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair Travis A. Moore on Thursday, February 1, 2024, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. All subcommittee members (Chair Moore; Representative Gary S. Brewer, Jr.; Representative William M. Hixon; Representative Russell L. Ott; Representative Marvin R. Pendarvis) were present for all or a portion of the meeting.

## Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

# Approval of Minutes

### **Approval of Minutes**

I. Representative Brewer makes a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the October 26, 2023 meeting. A roll call vote is held and the motion passes.

<b>Rep. Brewer's motion to approve meeting minutes.</b>	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Brewer	✓		
Rep. Hixon	√		
Rep. Pendarvis			~
Rep. Ott			~
Rep. Moore	$\checkmark$		

#### Discussion of the South Carolina Forestry Commission

- II. Prior to beginning his testimony, Chair Moore reminds the Forestry Commission's Executive Director and State Forester, Scott Phillips, that he was sworn in at the Thursday, March 9, 2023 Public Input Meeting, and that he remains under oath. Chair Moore asks if there are any additional agency representatives who may address the subcommittee today or at future meetings that have not been placed under oath. Tom W. Patton, Deputy State Forester, Douglas Wood, Director of Communications, Cathy Nordeen, Director of Communications, David Rollings, Director of Information Technology, and Walt McPhail, Chairman of the Forestry Commission were sworn in.
- III. State Forester Phillips then begins his presentation to the subcommittee and discusses the following topics:
  - 1. Forestry's mission vision, and values;
  - 2. Forestry's agency partners;
  - 3. Forestry's history and milestones

Throughout the presentation, members ask State Forester Philips questions and State Forester Philips responds.

#### Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.